Emory University | Woodruff Health Sciences Center
Bookmark and Share

Class of 2016 Student Awards

Each year the Division of Physical Therapy presents awards to graduating students.
Story Photo

Frances Curtiss (second from left) with this year’s recipients of the Frances A. Curtiss Award for Excellence in Community Service: Vanessa Doyley (l), Allison Nogi, and Rie Tomida.

Excellence in Leadership Award

This award was given 
to Haley Shore McDonald, who showed considerable initiative and organizational skills related to class and program activities.

Excellence in Service Award

This award recognized Vanessa Doyley and Sarah Sharbaugh for outstanding service contributions to the program and/or physical therapy’s professional association.

Frances A. Curtiss Award for Excellence in Community Service

This award recognized the outstanding service contributions of Vanessa Doyley, Allison Nogi, and Rie Tomida to the community at the local, national, or international level.

Johnnie Morgan Award for Excellence in Clinical Science

Based on the recommendations of the clinical instructors and the director of clinical education, this award was given to Maggie Griebert and Timothy Stark for going above and beyond what is expected of students during their clinical affiliations.

Susan J. Herdman Award for Clinical Practice

This award was given to students Elaine Ervin, Steven Griffin, Allison Nogi, Jenny Webeler, and Emily Wozobski, who exemplify the drive to advance the profession and who demonstrated knowledge and skills in a specialized area of patient care.

Growth Mindset Award

This award acknowledged Gale McCall, who models behaviors of perseverance and courage in meeting challenges and who, through hard work and dedication, creates a love of learning and resilience.

Pamela A. Catlin Award for Excellence in Critical Inquiry

This award was given to Kayleigh Kalamar, Kristen Thomas, Colby Wallace, and Emily Wozobski who were deemed 
by the faculty in consultation with their research advisers to have shown leadership, mastery of content knowledge, problem-solving ability, enthusiasm, and value to overall research projects.

Director’s Award for Academic Excellence

This award was given to Kari Dieffenderfer, Haley Shore McDonald, and Eric Oetter in recognition of exceptional academic work.

Email the editor