Emory University | Woodruff Health Sciences Center
Bookmark and Share

Class of 2018 Student Awards

Each year the Division of Physical Therapy presents awards to graduating students.
Story Photo

(from left to right) Marie Johanson presents the Director’s Award for Excellence in Growth Mindset to Amanda Bastien and Deb Korzun.

Director’s Award for Academic Excellence

This award was given to Mary Alice White in recognition of exceptional academic work.

Director’s Award for Excellence in Growth Mindset

This award recognized Amanda Bastien and Deb Korzun for modeling perseverance and courage in meeting challenges and who, through hard work and dedication, showed resilience and a love of learning.

Excellence in Leadership Award

This award was presented to Kara Arps for showing considerable initiative and organizational skills related to class and program activities.

Excellence in Service Award

This award recognized Nathalie Angel, Jynelle Jarvis, Nathalie Rosales, Stephanie Tirado, Kevin Tolbert and Elizabeth Weber for outstanding service contributions to the program and/or physical therapy’s professional association.

Frank S. Blanton Humanities in Rehabilitation Scholar Award

This award was presented to Nathalie Angel for being dedicated to the pursuit of knowledge in the humanities, demonstrating a deep desire to foster awareness of humanities in health professions and exhibiting kindness and compassion in relating with others.

Frances A. Curtiss Award for Excellence in Community Service

This award recognized the outstanding service contributions of Caitlyn Behling to the community at the local, national, or international level.

image of students grace lancaster and sam reckons with brian tovinBrian Tovin (center), the son of the late Ian Tovin, congratulates Grace Lancaster and Sam Recinos, recipients of the Ian H. Tovin Scholarship Award.

Ian H. Tovin Scholarship Award

This award was given to Grace Lancaster and Sam Recinos in recognition of outstanding performance throughout the program and an intention to focus on orthopedics after graduation.



Johnnie Morgan Award for Excellence in Clinical Science

This award was given to Ann Colonna and Stephanie Tschoeke for going above and beyond what is expected of students during their clinical affiliations.



Pamela A. Catlin Award for Excellence in Critical Inquiry

This award was given to Ann Colonna, Kathy Meacham and Vinny Santucci who were deemed by the faculty and their research advisers to have shown leadership, mastery of content knowledge, problem-solving ability, enthusiasm, and value to overall research projects.



Susan J. Herdman Award for Clinical Practice

This award was given to Hannah Hudson, Cami Silverman and Jessica Simon for exemplifying the drive to advance the profession and who demonstrated knowledge and skills in a specialized area of patient care.

Email the editor