Emory University | Woodruff Health Sciences Center
Bookmark and Share

Faculty Notes

Kathy Lee Bishop, PT, DPT served as the program chair of the Georgia Association of Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Rehabilitation Annual Meeting in March 2019. She was also part of a team that won the Best Poster Award at a spring conference of the Association of American Colleges.

Edelle [Edee] Field-Fote, PT, PhD, FAPTA was elected to serve as chair of the National Institutes of Health National Advisory Board on Medical Rehabilitation Research. She has served on the board since 2018 and will begin her term as chair in December 2019.

Bruce Greenfield, PT, MA, PhD, FNAP has been selected as a Catherine Worthington Fellow of the American Physical Therapy Association (FAPTA). FAPTA is APTA’s highest membership category to recognize members who have demonstrated sustained efforts to advance the physical therapy profession. Dr. Greenfield’s nomination included supportive documentation from many nationally and internationally recognized leaders in the physical therapy profession who spoke of his prominent leadership, influence and achievements within the profession.

Marie Johanson, PT, PhD is now chair of the American Board of Physical Therapy Specialties (ABPTS) and is the ABPTS representative for the Education Leadership Partnership. Both are part of the American Physical Therapy Association.

Trisha Kesar, PT, PhD, who was recently promoted to associate professor, was awarded a five-year R01 research grant from the National Institutes of Health. She is the principal investigator of a project titled, “Biomechanical and Neural Mechanisms of Post-Stroke Gait Training.” The co-investigative team includes Emory DPT’s Michael Borich, PT, DPT, PhD, Joe Nocera, PhD and Steven Wolf, PT, PhD, FAPTA.

Shilpa Krishnan, PT, PhD was recently accepted as a Fellow in the inaugural Georgia Clinical & Translational Science Alliance TEAMS (Translational Education and Mentoring for Science) Program. Earlier this year, she was interviewed for an NBC News report detailing how caregivers of those with Alzheimer’s disease can better care for themselves.

Steven Wolf, PT, PhD, FAPTA was named the 2019 Dean’s Distinguished Faculty Lecture and Award recipient. This is among the most prestigious and celebratory honors that the School of Medicine can bestow on a faculty member.

Email the editor